Your Browser does not fully support CSS please click on this link to properly view this page

EGS University logo

The European Graduate School is a graduate and postgraduate degree-granting university with two divisions:
Arts, Health and Society:
Media and Communications:

About EGS
The European Graduate School realizes a new concept in university-level education by bringing together leading representatives of contemporary philosophy, film, expressive arts therapy, consulting. Coaching and education, media studies, literature, performance art, cultural studies, video, photography, architecture, art, and literary theory with an international mix of artists, filmmakers, philosophers, psychologists, writers, musicians, educators, social workers, architects and journalists.

The European Graduate School was established in 1994 for the purpose of providing continuing education for accomplished professionals but is also open to especially gifted graduate students. The main campus of the EGS, Saas-Fee, is located in Wallis, Switzerland, where intensive summer seminars take place from May to August each year. During the rest of the year continuous seminars and workshops on local sites of affiliated institutions and Internet-based learning prepare students for the summer residencies. The programs of the European Graduate School are distinguished by their cross-disciplinary approach as well as by the collegial interaction of professors with students. The language of instruction is English but thesis and dissertations may also be submitted in German and French.

The EGS is committed to international exchange in terms of teaching and research and, consequently, cooperates in many joint research projects with the institutions in USA, Canada, France, Italy, Mexico, and South Korea. The EGS faculty is internationally composed, interfacing the arts, social sciences, humanities, and science, society & technology studies. Current faculty members of the European Graduate School include Giorgio Agamben, Chantal Akerman, Pierre Alferi, Sally Atkins, Pierre Aubenque, Alain Badiou, Nicholson Baker, Judith Balso, Lewis Baltz, Jean Baudrillard, Yve-Alain Bois, Catherine Breillat, Victor Burgin, Judith Butler, Sophie Calle, Hélène Cixous, David Cronenberg, Diane Davis, Michel Deguy, Manuel DeLanda, Claire Denis, Suzanne Doppelt, Herbert Eberhart, Atom Egoyan, Tracey Emin, Margo Fuchs-Knill, Chris Fynsk, Antony Gormley, Peter Greenaway, Durs Grünbein, Werner Hamacher, Barbara Hammer, Donna Haraway, Michael Hardt, Martin Hielscher, Michel Houellebecq, Shelley Jackson, Majken Jacoby, Paolo Knill, Jürgen Kriz, Claude Lanzmann, Ellen Levine, Steve Levine, Yang Lian, David Lynch, Greg Lynn, Elizabeth McKim, Paul D. Miller a.k.a. DJ Spooky that Subliminal Kid, Carl Mitcham, Colum McCann, Jean-Luc Nancy, Klaus Ottmann, Cornelia Parker, Larry Rickels, Avital Ronell, Wolfgang Schirmacher, Volker Schlöndorff, Michael Schmidt, Hendrik Speck, Bruce Sterling, Sandy Stone, Elia Suleiman, Fred Ulfers, Gregory Ulmer, Agnès Varda, Victor J. Vitanza, Hubertus von Amelunxen, John Waters, Samuel Weber, Krzysztof Zanussi, Siegfried Zielinski and Slavoj Zizek. Jean-François Lyotard was a guiding spirit during the founding phase and Jacques Derrida amicably supported our work for many years and has held his last workshop in April 2004.

Recognition of EGS
Privately funded, the EGS was founded by the non-profit European Foundation of Interdisciplinary Studies (EGIS), Zurich. The European Graduate School is governed by a Board of Directors that includes a representative of the accrediting state (Swiss canton of Wallis) and is a formally recognized university in Wallis by Staatsratsbeschluss (State Council decision, from June 20, 2002).

According to Wallis university law, the EGS is regionally accredited by the Ministry of Education and grants recognized M.A. and Ph.D. (Doktor der Philosophie) degrees on the basis of the State Council decision by Kanton Wallis (Switzerland), from April 14, 1998. With the decision from December 12, 2000, the United States Department of Education has determined that the European Graduate School satisfies the definition of an eligible institution under the Higher Education Act of 1965 and will be listed in the next edition of the Directory of Postsecondary Institutions published by the U.S. Department of Education. The EGS School Code OPE ID Number is 03518300.

An American Council of the EGS was established in 1996 to review the original application documents for the Ph.D. program and currently advises the development of The European Graduate School. The Council is chaired by Roy P. Fairfield, Ph.D. (Harvard), Professor Emeritus, Union Institute, and co-founder of three accredited American universities (Union, Walden, and Graduate School of America). Other members are Friedrich Ulfers, Ph.D. (NYU), Associate Professor and Director of Deutsches Haus, New York University: Terry Armstrong, Ph.D., Professor and former director, MBA program, University of Florida; James P. Dixon, M.D. (Harvard), Professor Emeritus, University of North Carolina, and former President of Antioch University Ohio; Carl Mitcham, Ph.D (Fordham), Professor of Humanities, Colorado School of Mines, former director of the Science — Technology — Society Program at Penn State University and founding president of the Society for Philosophy and Technology; Sherry Penn, Ph.D., Professor, Union Institute, and vice president, Penn-Crawford Associates; William Romey, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus, St. Lawrence University; Peter Simpson, Ph.D. (Oxford), Professor and department chair, City University of New York.

The EGS has cooperation agreements with the following accredited universities: Hochschule für Musik und Theater (Graduate School for Music and Theater), Hamburg (Germany), Appalachian State University North Carolina (USA), International School for New Media, Lübeck (Germany); California Institute for Integral Studies, San Francisco (USA), Internationale Hochschule für künstlerische Therapien und Kreativpädagogik (International Graduate School for Arts Therapy & Creative Pedagogy), Calw (Germany).

Arts, Health and Society:
Media and Communications: